The Shakespeare Stories Collection

Author(s): Andrew Matthews


It's now 400 years since William Shakespeare died and his work still remains just as relevant and compelling today. Boasting 16 of William Shakespeare's most popular and enduring plays, this collection contains rewritten versions of all his most well-known tales. From the tragedy of Macbeth to the humour of Much Ado About Nothing, this superb collection of paperbacks makes an excellent introduction to Shakespeare for younger readers. The tales have been retold using accessible language and with the help of Tony Ross's engaging black-and-white illustrations, each play is vividly brought to life, allowing these culturally enriching stories to be shared with as wide an audience as possible. Titles in this collection: Julius Caesar King Lear The Merchant of Venice The Taming of the Shrew Twelfth Night As you Like it A Midsummer Night's Dream Much Ado About Nothing The Tempest Henry V Macbeth Othello Richard III Romeo and Juliet Antony and Cleopatra Hamlet


Available Stock:

Add to Cart

Click & Collect

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Andrew Matthews has written numerous books for children and teenagers, and is an internationally renowned author. He wrote King Arthur and Wolf Summer for the Orchard list, as well as a series of retellings of Hans Christian Andersen's fairy tales. Andrew has been short-listed twice for the Smarties Award. He lives in Berkshire. Tony Ross is one of the most highly regarded children's book creators/illustrators in Britain. For Orchard he illustrated the Greek and Roman Myths books in the Orchard Myths range, and the hilarious One and Only series by Laurence Anholt, as well as the poetry collection Balloon Lagoon. Tony lives in Wales.

General Fields

  • : 9781408344880
  • : Hachette Children's Group
  • : Orchard Books
  • : 1.44
  • : April 2016
  • : 9.7 Centimeters X 13.2 Centimeters X 20.2 Centimeters
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Multiple copy pack
  • : Andrew Matthews