Product detail

The Accident

The Accident

Author: Chris Pavone
$19.99(AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Description

From Edgar Award-winning Chris Pavone, author of the Sunday Times and New York Times bestseller The Expats, comes a riveting time-bomb of a thriller (fans of The Expats will be excited to see a few characters from Pavone's first book pop up here as well). Taking place over the course of twenty-four hours, The Accident draws on the rich worlds of publishing, politics and international spies to tell a suspenseful tale of intrigue in the vein of John Grisham and Laura Lippman. In New York City, Isabel Reed, one of the most respected and powerful literary agents in the city, frantically turns the pages of a manuscript into the early dawn hours. This manuscript - printed out, hand-delivered, totally anonymous - is full of shocking revelations and disturbing truths linked to a car accident that occurred years ago, things which could compromise national security. Is this what she's been waiting for her entire career: a book that will help her move on from a painful past, a book that could save her beloved industry ...a book that will change the world? In Copenhagen, Hayden Gray, a veteran station chief, wary of the CIA's obsession with the Middle East, has been steadfastly monitoring the dangers that abound in Europe. Even if his bosses aren't paying attention, he's determined to stay vigilant. And he's also on the trail of this manuscript - and the secrets that lie at its heart. For him, quite simply, it must never see the light of day. As Isabel and Hayden try to outwit each other, the nameless author watches on from afar. With no-one quite sure who holds all the cards, the stakes couldn't be higher: in just one day careers could be ruined, devastating secrets could be unearthed, and innocent people could die. As the manuscript moves from person to person, it leaves a trail of bodies in its wake. Gripping, sophisticated, and impossible to put down, The Accident is a masterful follow-up to one of the most acclaimed and striking debut thrillers of recent years.

Promotion info

From the author of the Sunday Times and New York Times bestseller The Expats, comes a riveting time-bomb of a thriller.

Author description

Chris Pavone grew up in Brooklyn, graduated from Cornell, and was an editor at book-publishing houses in New York for fifteen years. His 2012 debut, The Expats, described by the Sunday Times as 'a captivating, sophisticated thriller' was an international best seller and won the Edgar Award for best first novel.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780571298945
  • : Faber & Faber
  • : Faber & Faber
  • : January 2015
  • : 19.80 cmmm X 12.90 cmmm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : February 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 813.6
  • : en
  • : Main
  • : Paperback
  • : Chris Pavone
  • : 544