Category:

 Contemporary

Awards:Long-listed for National Book Award 2017.

Reviewed by Bookoccino's newest staff member, Bibi.
Pachinko is a Japanese parlour game, a cross between pinball and slot machine, occupying a legal and social gray zone. The game itself is legal but not the gambling that accompanies it, thus the Japanese tolerate it whilst happ... read more

Pachinko
$22.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Category:

 Biography & Memoir

Awards:Shortlisted for Waterstones Book of the Year 2016.

THE NEW YORK TIMESNUMBER ONE BESTSELLERTHESUNDAY TIMESNUMBER ONE BESTSELLERSHORTLISTED FOR THE WELLCOME BOOK PRIZE 2017 'Finishing this book and then forgetting about it is simply not an option...Unmissable' New York TimesAt the age of thirty-six, on the verge of c... read more

When Breath Becomes Air
$19.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Category:

 Contemporary

Reading Level:General Adult

A moving, sweet and uplifting novel of love, grief and the heartache of letting go, from a wonderful new Australian author. Cate Carlton has recently died, yet she is able to linger on, watching her three young children and her husband as they come to terms with their life without he... read more

In the Quiet
$29.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Contemporary

Reading Level:very good
Awards:Winner of Readings New Australia Fiction Award 2017 (Australia). Long-listed for Indie Book Awards - Best Debut Fiction 2017 (Australia).

Sam Carmody is a writer and award-winning musician from the mid-west town of Geraldton on the central coast of Western Australia. He is also a previous recipient of the Mary Grant Bruce Award as part of the Fellowship of Australian Writers (FAW) National Literary Awards and his s... read more

The Windy Season
$29.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Contemporary

Awards:Winner of Nielsen BookData/ABA Book of the Year Award - Booksellers' Choice 2010. Shortlisted for Miles Franklin Literary Award 2010 and International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award 2011.

A 2012 Michael L. Printz Honor Book
Charlie Bucktin, a bookish thirteen year old, is startled one summer night by an urgent knock on his bedroom window. His visitor is Jasper Jones, an outcast in... read more

Jasper Jones
$23.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Contemporary

A brilliantly imaginative and poignant work from the modern master of wonder and terror, The Ocean at the End of the Lane is Neil Gaiman's first new novel for adults since his #1 New York Times bestseller Anansi Boys.This bewitching and harrowing tale of mystery a... read more

The Ocean at the End of the Lane
$19.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Contemporary

Breakfast of Champions is a slippery, lucid, bleakly humorous jaunt through America circa 1973, with Vonnegut acting as our Virgil-like companion. The book follows its main character, auto-dealing solid-citizen Dwayne Hoover, down into madness, a condition brought on by the... read more

Breakfast of Champions
$14.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Australian author

"If you read only one book this year, make sure it's this" (The Sunday Times, London): An award-winning debut novel from a rising star in Australia--a hauntingly beautiful story about the bond of brotherhood and the fragility of youth.
 
Joe, Miles, and Har... read more

Past the Shallows
$19.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Contemporary

Awards:Shortlisted for Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2010 and Galaxy National Book Awards: International Author of the Year 2010 and Orange Prize for Fiction 2011.

SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2010 MAN BOOKER PRIZESHORTLISTED FOR THE 2011 ORANGE PRIZE FOR FICTIONJack is five. He lives with his Ma. They live in a single, locked room. They don't have the key. Jack and Ma are prisoners.

Room
$19.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Middle Readers

Series:The Wild Magic Trilogy

"Ireland's answer to JK Rowling." Sunday Independent A middle-grade fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Frances Hardinge and Katherine Rundell. When witches kidnap Mup's dad, she must journey to their home to save him, and so begins a fantas... read more

Begone the Raggedy Witches (The Wild Magic Trilogy #1)
$16.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Australian author

Awards:Winner of Age Book of the Year: Fiction 2008 and Australian Independent Booksellers Indie Awards: Best Australian Book 2008 and Miles Franklin Literary Award 2009. Shortlisted forNSW Premier's Literary Award Christina Stead Prize for Fiction 2009 and Nielsen BookData/ABA Book of the Year Award - Booksellers' Choice 2009.

Filled with the lyrical genius that has earned Winton international acclaim and a loyal readership worldwide, Breath is the coming-of-age story of two thrill-seeking boys who surf for danger of all kinds on the untamed coast of Western Australia. As the two boys fall under the thrall ... read more

Breath
$22.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Contemporary

Awards:Winner of Costa Novel Award 2010. Shortlisted for Galaxy National Book Awards: Waterstone's UK Author of the Year 2010.

Lexie Sinclair yearns for more than her parents' genteel country life. She makes her way to the city, where she meets a magazine editor, Innes, a man unlike any she has ever imagined. He introduces her to the thrilling world of bohemian postwar London, and Lexie l... read more

The Hand That First Held Mine
$19.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1