Feel Good Reads

American humourist P.J. O'Rourke once said, "Always read something that will make you look good if you die in the middle of it." But sometimes we simply feel like reading something other than all those worthy and impressive literary award winners - something lighter but still well-written, something wonderfully witty which makes us laugh out loud, or maybe just a cracking good adventure. So for all of you who wander in and tell us that you're looking for something different to read, but you don't really know what you want; or who need something for a friend in hospital; or a book to take on holiday; or just something to escape from the grimness of the nightly news - we are delighted to present a new area in our bookshop entitled "Feel-Good Reads."


Titles include both fiction and non-fiction options - beloved classics from P.G. Wodehouse, Barbara Pym, and Nancy Mitford; hilarious travel narratives from Bill Bryson; amusing essays from David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs; modern Australian classics from John Clarke, Shane Maloney, and Thea Astley; plus many more from Kurt Vonnegut's Breakfast of Champions to Sue Townsend's Adrian Mole series; from Alexander McCall-Smith's warm and witty Scottish tales to Paul Carter's gripping and often hilarious true-life adventures.

We will also be promoting Feel-Good Friday where we will feature a chosen title from these shelves and posting on facebook, twitter and instagram so keep an eye out for your next great read. 


Category:

 Feel Good Fiction

The new book from the winner of the 2017 Prime Ministers Literary award for fiction.
Henry Lawson’s short story ‘The Drover’s Wife’ is an Australian classic that has sparked interpretations on the page, on canvas and on the stage. But it has never bee... read more

The Drover's Wives
$26.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 Feel Good Non-fiction

Part memoir, part 'missive-from-the-middle', Yes Please is a hilarious collection of stories, thoughts, ideas, haikus and words-to-live-by drawn from the life and mind of acclaimed actress, writer and comedian Amy Poehler. Yes Please finds Amy riffing on everything from sex an... read more

Yes Please
$19.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

A dark and unexpected novel about a Dublin undertaker who finds himself on the wrong side of the Irish mob.
 
Paddy Buckley is a grieving widower who has worked for years for Gallagher's, a long-established--some say the best--fune... read more

The Last Four Days of Paddy Buckley: A Novel
$22.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 Feel Good Fiction

Series:Harper Perennial Modern Classics Ser.

The Third Policeman is Flann O'Brien's brilliantly dark comic novel about the nature of time, death, and existence. Told by a narrator who has committed a botched robbery and brutal murder, the novel follows him and his adventures in a two-dimensional police station where... read more

The Third Policeman
$22.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 Feel Good Non-fiction

'Unquestionably the king of comic writing . . . Calypso is both funnier and more heartbreaking than pretty much anything out there' Hadley Freeman, Guardian
If you've ever laughed your way through David Sedaris's cheerfully misanthropic stories, you might think you know wha... read more

Calypso
$29.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 Penguin Spinner Fiction

Series:Penguin Essentials

'His mouth had been used as a latrine by some small creature of the night, and then as a mausoleum. During the night, too, he'd somehow been on a cross-country run and then been expertly beaten up by secret police. He felt bad'. Jix Dixon has a terrible job at a second-rate u... read more

Lucky Jim
$19.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 Penguin Spinner Fiction

Series:Penguin Essentials

'Let your boat of life be light, packed with only what you need - a homely home and simple pleasures, one or two friends, worth the name, someone to love and someone to love you, a cat, a dog, and a pipe or two, enough to eat and enough to ... read more

Three Men in a Boat: To Say Nothing of the Dog!
$19.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 Feel Good Fiction

Series:Penguin Essentials

'We are not like other folk, maybe, but there have always been Starkadders at Cold Comfort Farm.'
Sensible, sophisticated Flora Poste has been expensively educated to do everything but earn a living. When she is orphaned at twenty, she decides her only option is to de... read more

Cold Comfort Farm
$19.95(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 Feel Good Fiction

Series:Picador Classic
Awards:Winner of National Book Awards Book of the Year 1998 and Specsavers Platinum Bestseller Award 2017.

With an introduction by Caitlin Moran A dazzling urban satire of modern relationships? An ironic, tragic insight into the demise of the nuclear family? Or the confused ramblings of a pissed thirty-something? As Bridget documents her struggles through the... read more

Bridget Jones's Diary: Picador Classic
$19.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

2028. Prime Minister Fitzwilliams' instincts tell him it's time to call a snap election. His cabinet team is adequate (just), the howling protests of the doctors after the GP changes has finally died down and, best of all, the Australian Greens are... read more

2028... and Australia has gone to hell in a handbasket
$29.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 Feel Good Fiction

'Is marriage just a series of texts about where the children are and whether we need milk until one of you dies?? 
Susannah Parks - wife, mother, cleaner of surfaces and runner of household - is a viola virtuoso. Except she hasn't picked up a viola for over a dec... read more

The Sparkle Pages
$32.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 Feel Good Fiction

An eccentric woman who is great with numbers--but not so great with people--realizes it's up to her to pull a community together in this charming, big-hearted debut perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and The Rosie Project. Germaine Johnson doesn't need frie... read more

The Helpline
$29.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0